Skip to main content

Steuben Society of America, Carl Schurz Unit 993, Springfield, Massachusetts Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00165

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Two scrapbooks of the Steuben Society of America, Carl Schurz Unit 993, Springfield, Massachusetts chapter. The scrapbooks include minutes, newspaper clippings, invitations, programs, membership lists and procedures. Meetings often include comments about World War II and the response of their unit and the National Society.

Dates

  • Creation: 1937-1946

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Historical Note:

The Steuben Society of America was founded in May of 1919, in the aftermath of the First World War, by patriotic Americans of German descent. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.25 Linear Feet

Additional Description

Acquisition Information:

Purchase.

Related Name

Subject

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Steuben Society of America, Carl Schurz Unit 993, Springfield, Massachusetts Scrapbooks
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne T. Johnson.
Date
2009-02-03
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: