This collection is composed of material collected and created by the Williamsburg Documentary Project. The Williamsburg Documentary Project conducts oral history interviews and builds physical and digital archives, as well as other activities, through which it interprets Williamsburg’s recent past.
This collection includes publications, news clippings, interviews, and planning documents about Merchant's Square, New Town, food, immigration, as well as events related to the controversy surrounding the removal of a cross from the chapel in the College of William and Mary's Wren Building at the direction of College President Gene R. Nichol. A complete list of topics is available in the Finding Aid/Box List.
Additional information about the Williamsburg Documentary Project is available at
Portions of this collection may be restricted for privacy reasons. Consult a staff member for assistance. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
The American Studies Program offers students the opportunity to engage with the complex and diverse histories of cultural, racial, and national encounters that, like those of our local area, have come to shape the past and present of the United States, and the Americas. In a rigorous, yet flexible environment of intellectual inquiry, students develop the critical skills that allow them not only to pursue rewarding careers, but to serve as responsible citizens of the 21st Century.
Additional information about the program is available online at http://www.wm.edu/americanstudies/.
Acc. 2009.030 received 2/16/2009 from the Williamsburg Documentary Project via Jenna Simpson. Acquisition information for material received after 7/13/2009 is available by consulting a Special Collections Research Center staff member.
Electronic documents from the Williamsburg Documentary Project, including many interviews, are available via the William and Mary digital repository at .
Information about related materials is available at http://dspace.swem.wm.edu/dspace/handle/10288/453
Acc. 2009.030 accessioned and minimally described by Amy C. Schindler, University Archivist, in 2/2009. Acc. 2010.311 accessioned and minimally described by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in 5/2010. All accessions were integrated and processed by David Ward, SCRC Graduate Apprentice, from October 2013-January 2014. Acc. 2015.148 accessioned and minimally described by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in June 2015.
Guide to the Williamsburg Documentary Project Collection
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English
May 12th, 2017: Descriptions for the student project boxes were composed by Prof. Arthur Knight and added to the finding aid on 8/25/2010. Finding aid and box list updated by David Ward, SCRC Graduate Apprentice, in January 2014.
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository
Williamsburg Documentary Project Collection, Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary. https://scrcguides.libraries.wm.edu/repositories/2/resources/1958 Accessed July 19, 2019.