Men's and Women's Tennis Records
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of one box of programs, news reports, schedules, rosters, ephemera and other materials related to William & Mary's men's and women's tennis teams. The earliest material in the collection pertains to the men's 1947 and 1948 National Championship victories, but the majority of the material in the collection is dated to the years after 1978. Two folders contain material pertaining exclusively to the men's team while two folders contain material pertaining exclusively to the women's team. The remaining three folders contain material pertaining to both teams.
Dates
- Creation: 1947-2015
Creator
- College of William and Mary. Department of Athletics. (Organization)
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical / Historical
Men's and Women's tennis has been played as an intercollegiate sport at William & Mary since the 1920s. The men's team was led by coach Sharvey G. Umbeck to two NCAA championships in 1947 (10–4 vs. Rice) and 1948 (6–5 vs. San Francisco).They were also runners up in 1946 against USC. William & Mary players have won two individual events: Gardner Larned won the singles title in 1947 and the pair of Fred Kovaleski and Bernard Bartzen won the doubles title in 1948. Since then, Tribe men's tennis has made four national championship appearances. Additionally, after joining the Colonial Athletic Association in 1984, the Men's team has won four conference championships. The women's team, while never winning an NCAA title, has also been prolific. The team has made 20 appearances in the NCAA championships with a combined record of 21–19. Furthermore, after also joining the Colonial Athletic Association in 1984, the women's team has won 24 Colonial Athletic Association titles.
Extent
0.5 Linear Feet
Language
English
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Transfer
Subject
- College of William and Mary--Sports (Organization)
- College of William and Mary--Tennis--History--20th century (Organization)
- College of William and Mary--Tennis--History--21st century (Organization)
- Title
- Guide to the Men's and Women's Tennis Records
- Author
- SCRC Staff
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository