Skip to main content

Florence Cavanaugh Morrison and Dora Helen Cavanaugh Kline Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.73

Scope and Contents

Both women write about their activities with their family and friends in Rochester and Binghamton, New York.  Both include references to important local and national events. Florence Rachel Cavanaugh Morrison's diaries cover 1924, 1927-1929, while Dora Helen Cavanaugh Kline's diaries are from 1929-1930. Per Dora Kline's notation in the back of her 1930 diary, the Kavanaugh Family members are:  Father – Tim, Mother – Emma, First Child – Larry, Second Child – Florence, Third Child – Jack, Fourth Child – Dora, Fifth Child – Alice.

Dates

  • 1924-1930
  • Majority of material found in 1929-1930

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

6 vol.

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Dora Cavanaugh Kline lives in Binghamton, New York during 1929 and 1930. She was married to Matthew Kline, but he may be deceased since she lives with her parents, talks of insurance payments and is possibly dating. Her parents are Timothy L. and Emma or Anna Cavanaugh per census records of 1900, 1910, 1920 and 1930. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.50 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Purchased.

Physical Description

6 vol.
Title
Guide to the Florence Cavanaugh Morrison and Dora Helen Cavanaugh Kline Diaries
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne T. Johnson.
Date
2008-09-26
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: