Letters
Content Description
Ten letters and seven postcards, 1940-1945 from concentration camp prisoners in Germany. Letters contain the name of the detainee, date of birth, and prisoner number. The majority of the letters were written on official camp stationary which contained the rules and warnings (in German) of what was allowed to be included in correspondence addressed to the detainees.
Dates
- Creation: 1940-1945
Creator
- From the Collection: Orlik, Johann (Person)
- From the Collection: Gredka, Stanislaus (Person)
- From the Collection: Dobrynski, Thaddaus (Person)
- From the Collection: Dawicki, Heinrich (Person)
- From the Collection: Kuezara, Wiktonja (Person)
- From the Collection: Goralski, Josef (Person)
Conditions Governing Access
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.01 Linear Feet
Language
German
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository