Correspondence, 1945 June and November
Scope and Contents
Herbert Strout, in Germany, to his wife on February 4, 1946, “we are having court again…this afternoon I am going to go out on a little investigation…” . By March 1946, Herbert writes to his wife that he is tired of arguing by letter and had hoped to return to a happy home, which is not the case. Trouble between his wife and their families. On March 17, 1946, he comments "We got a German General a few days ago that is wanted for war crimes.” Other correspondents are Barbara Chipman and Aunt Sally.
Dates
- Creation: 1945 June and November
Creator
- From the Collection: Strout, Herbert C., 1920-2004 (Person)
- From the Collection: Chipman, Harold W., 1923-2008 (Person)
- From the Collection: Strout, Jerry L., 1947 - unknown (Person)
- From the Collection: Strout, Phyllis C. (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Series: 1.0 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository