Mencken, H. L. (Henry Louis), 1880-1956
Person
Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:
Carl R. Dolmetsch Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.111
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence, publications, and other material kept by Carl R. Dolmetsch, a professor in the Department of English at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are publications, a drawing, and a poster related to author H.L. Mencken; correspondence concerning potential visiting lecturers to events in the Department of Engllish; and letters written to Carl R. Dolmetsch by persons who had contributed material to Smart...
Dates:
1751-1990
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Joel E. Spingarn Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00578
Scope and Contents
Includes letters to Spingarn, president of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People from Lowell Thomas, Sumner Welles, Edward Steichen, Charles A. Beard, Henry F. Du Pont, H. L. Mencken, and Owen Roberts concerning horticultural matters. Also includes correspondence, 1938, of Congressman Hamilton Fish, Jr., Walter White, and Springarn concerning remarks made by William E. Borah concerning lynching.Much of the correspondence deals with gardening. He sends...
Dates:
1934-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- African Americans 1
- American literature--20th century 1
- American periodicals--History 1
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
- Correspondence 1
- Drawings (visual works) 1
- Horticulture 1
- Lynching--United States--History 1
- Manuscripts (document genre) 1
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 1
- Photostats 1
- Posters 1
- Publications 1
- Satire, American--18th century 1
- Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 1
- Virginia--History--18th century 1
- Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1 + ∧ less
∨ more