Skip to main content

Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908

 Person

Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:

Armistead Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ar5
Scope and Contents

Copies of papers concerning the Armistead family of Williamsburg, Va. Includes copies of wills; letter of R. T. Armistead concerning his Civil War record; Confederate passes issued to Robert H. Armistead and his oath of allegiance to United States. Includes copies of letters of Cynthia Beverley (Tucker) Coleman and printed circular of Female Seminary, Williamsburg, Va.

Dates: 1736-1897
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00007
Scope and Contents

The collection contains the papers of Williamsburg resident Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman and includes correspondence, Coleman's personal writings, various publications, legal and financial papers, and artifacts.

Dates: 1834-1928, 1988, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tucker-Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Dates: 1664-1945; Majority of material found in 1770-1907
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg Poems

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01194
Scope and Contents

Three poems related to Williamsburg.  "Lay of the Lost Lion" by Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman, originally in the Williamsburg Garden Club's 1932 "Williamsburg Scrapbook."  "The Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, VA, Its origin and fame and how it got its name" by the History Committee.  "My God, They've sold the town" a poem about John D. Rockefeller, Jr.'s purchasing houses in Williamsburg.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X

Additional filters:

Subject
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Armistead family 1
Artifacts 1
∨ more
Children--Death 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Commonplace books 1
Correspondence 1
Diaries 1
Female Seminary (Virginia) 1
Financial records 1
Legal documents 1
Photocopies 1
Poems 1
Poetry 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Slavery--United States--History--19th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--History 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Refugees 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States--Religious History--Christianity 1
United States--Revolutionary War--1775-1783 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Women--History--Virginia 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
Women--Virginia--Williamsburg--Social conditions--19th century 1
Yorktown (Va.) 1
+ ∧ less