Catlett family
Family
Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:
Burwell-Catlett Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 B95
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, 1794-1887, of the Burwell family of Virginia, North Carolina, Alabama, and Mississippi. Includes letters of Mary Cole Turnbull Burwell and her children including Armistead Burwell, Benjamin Powell Burwell, Frances King Burwell Catlett, Robert Burwell, William T. Burwell (at the United States Military Academy), Charles Blair Burwell, and concerning these children and her other children Elizabeth Margaret Burwell Putnam and Anne Burwell Garland.Subjects include...
Dates:
1794-1887
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Catlett Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.28
Scope and Contents
Catlett family papers of Caroline County, Virginia. Correspondence that reflects the hard times in Virginia following the Civil War. Collection contains 72 original letters. Written by various extended family members, the majority of the letters are addressed to Arthur Catlett, a former Confederate Soldier and Virginia resident who moved to Texas shortly after the Civil War. Transcriptions for almost all letters, provided by the collection's donor, Elizabeth Jean Voss, are included....
Dates:
1865-1921
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Correspondence 1
- Education--Alabama 1
- Education--Virginia--History 1
- Farms--Texas--History--19th century 1
- Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
- Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
- Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Letters (correspondence) 1
- Manuscripts (document genre) 1
- Marriage--United States--History--19th century 1
- Photographs 1
- Recessions -- United States 1
- Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
- Slaves--United States--Correspondence 1
- Slaves--Virginia--Correspondence 1
- Texas--History--19th century 1
- Transcripts 1
- United States Military Academy 1
- United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 1
- Virginia--History--19th century 1 + ∧ less
∨ more