Tyler family
Family
Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:
Tyler Family Papers, Group A
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates:
1716-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group F
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group F
Scope and Contents
Collection consists of letters, historical sketches, wills, genealogical charts and coats of arms of Virginia families. The majority of these papers are genealogical inquiries made to Lyon Gardiner Tyler. Very few of Tyler's responses are included but the inquiries contain information.
One reel of microfilm for the Register Index for Abingdon Parish, Gloucester Co.,1671-1761, is available in the Swem Library Microforms Collection.
Dates:
1880-1935
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Account books 1
- Design drawings 1
- Diaries 1
- Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
- Financial records 1
- Patronage, Political--United States--History 1
- Receipts (financial records) 1
- Sherwood Forest (Virginia : Estate) 1
- Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
- Speeches 1
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- United States--History--War of 1812 1
- United States--Politics and Government 1
- United States--Presidents 1
- Virginia--Genealogy 1
- Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
- Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1 + ∧ less
∨ more