United Service Organizations (U.S.)
Organization
Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Lesslie Hall, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 H14
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1937-1973, of Admiral John Lesslie Hall, Jr. of Williamsburg and Alexandria, Va. and while stationed at Pearl Harbor, San Francisco and Norfolk, Va. The papers are both personal and professional. The collection contains material concerning World War II Operations TORCH (North Africa), BIGOT-HUSKY, AVALANCHE (Salerno), NEPTUNE-OVERLORD, and as well as the Army-Navy joint agreement on Normandy. Also includes material pertaining to his work with the USO, the Naval War College, Army War...
Dates:
1893-1973
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Filtered By
- Subject: Oral histories X
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Agendas (administrative records) 1
- American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
- Broadsides 1
- Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
- College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
- College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
- Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
- Essays 1
- Invitations 1
- James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Manuscripts (document genre) 1
- Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
- Membership lists 1
- Minutes 1
- Newspapers 1
- Norge (Va.)--History 1
- Operation Neptune 1
- Operation Overlord 1
- Operation Torch 1
- Ordinance 1
- Pamphlets 1
- Programs 1
- Reports 1
- Scrapbooks 1
- Speeches 1
- Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
- United States. Navy--History--World War, 1939-1945 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--City Planning Commission 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Utilities 1
- Women--Education--Virginia--History 1
- World War, 1914-1918 1
- World War, 1939-1945--European Front 1
- World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 1
- Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
- Zoning ordinances 1 + ∧ less
∨ more