College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae
Organization
Found in 246 Collections and/or Records:
Tazewell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 T19
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1838-1979. Business records and letters of the Tazewell family of Norfolk, VA, chiefly of Gov. Littleton Waller Tazewell, John Nivison Tazewell, Sally A. Tazewell, Ella Wickham Tazewell and Louisa Nivison Tazewell. Includes are account balances, property inventory lists, stock and bond certificate lists, tax collection receipts, payment receipts and personal correspondence concerning a book about Littleton Waller Tazewell. Also includes are a newspaper article, 1978, about the...
Dates:
1838-1978; Majority of material found in 1860-1870
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Alfred Lynch Terrell Essay
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.199
Scope and Contents
Alfred Lynch Terrell's degree essay titled "Steps in the Realization of the Ideal Rational Self."
Dates:
1905 June 3
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas G. Peachy, Jr. Chemistry Notes
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.256
Scope and Contents
One page of chemistry notes taken by Thomas G. Peachy, Jr., likely during the 1842/1843 session.
Dates:
circa 1842-1843
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas H. Daniel Thesis and Oration
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.283
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of two items. The first is Daniel's thesis, written in 1831. The front page says "Eulogy on Washington, Intended & Ppresented as the Thesis of Tho. H. Daniel, when an applicant for graudation at Wm & Mary College in 1831." The other is an oration dlivered at the Prince George County Courthouse on July 4, 1834 on the 58th anniversary of American Independence.
Dates:
1831, 1834 July 4
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tillar-Pope Families Collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00074
Scope and Contents
The collection includes items which belonged to Vernon Tillar (W&M Class of 1932) and the Pope Family. Included in the collection is an early 20th century photograph of the Kappa Alpha House (Alumni House) and Tillar's wallet. The wallet's contents include his W&M student activity card, his YMCA cards and receipts, and his Medical College of Virginia receipts. Also included is an unidentified mercantile ledger account book from Drewrysville, Va. that was also used as a clippings...
Dates:
1841-1933
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles Stewart Todd's Early Life Chronology
Collection
Identifier: SC 00588
Scope and Contents
Manuscript of chronological events in the early life of Charles Stewart Todd. Possibly autobiographical. Begins with 1) birthday on January 22, 1791 and ends with 30) at Bogota, Capital of the Republic of Columbia in 1823.
Dates:
circa 1822-1871
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jeffrey B. Trammell Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.154
Scope and Contents
Jeffrey B. Trammell's papers document his work as National Chair of Business Outreach and liaison for gay and lesbian constituents for the Al Gore/Joe Lieberman presidential campaign of 2000. The collection does not contain information regarding Jeffrey Trammell's personal life or his time serving as College of William and Mary's Rector. Correspondence between Trammell and his colleagues demonstrate the role he played in fundraising for the Gore campaign, as well as his political...
Dates:
1995-2001, 2007; Majority of material found in 1998-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Munford Tuck Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Dates:
1918-1968
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Clarence Lee Turnipseed Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.140
Scope and Contents
The collection includes a degree essay titled "Ideal Rational Self," as well as two letters written by Turnipseed to the faculty of the College of William and Mary. The letters are dated June 5, 1905 and June 8, 1905 and ask if Turnipseed can substitute a couple of his earned diplomas for two classes he failed as 1905 was his last year of school. The June 8th letter also asks if he can take an examination in Solid Geometery.
Dates:
1905
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group A
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates:
1716-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tazewell Tyler Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.196
Scope and Contents
This collection includes two items. The first is a document written by Tyler to the faculty at the College of William and Mary, acknowledging his violation of the institutional rule of leaving Williamsburg without the permission of the faculty and the promise that he will not repeat the same mistake. The second document is the faculty's resolution to "overlook this violation of the College Laws" given Tyler's "general good conduct" and his "frank and candid acknowledgement" of his...
Dates:
1850
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
University Archives Faculty-Alumni File Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 10
Scope and Contents
The University Archives Faculty-Alumni File is a reference collection of materials relating to and about individuals associated with the College of William and Mary. The collection includes secondary sources such as news clippings and transcriptions from published sources. An individual might be represented by one item or several folders. The dates associated with each name reflects the dates of the individual's known association with William & Mary.Not all persons...
Dates:
Existence: since circa 1980s
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
University Archives Oral History Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 43
Scope and Contents
The bulk of the University Archives Oral History Collection consists of transcripts and recordings of oral history interviews conducted as a part of various projects at the College of William and Mary with administrators, faculty, students, and alumni. The specific projects include the College's oral history program from the 1970s, an oral history program sponsored by the University Archives beginning in the 2000s, "Stony the Road We Trod," and the Stephens Project. The...
Dates:
1959-2018 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
University Archives Photograph Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 8
Scope and Contents
The collection includes print and some digital photographs of campus buildings, events, activities, subjects, and individuals, including alumni, faculty and staff, administrators, and visitors to campus. It is important to note that if looking for a specific person, such as Margaret Thatcher, to look not only for that person's name but to also look at photographs from events that person likely attended, such as Charter Day and Commencement. The same should be said for subjects,...
Dates:
1856-2015
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
University Archives Photographic Negatives Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 8.005
Scope and Contents
This collection is largely unprocessed, however, it aligns very closely with prints found within the University Archives Photograph Collection.
Subjects include faculty, staff, alumni, campus buildings, students, activities, and events.
Dates:
circa 1950-2005
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Vinyard Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 2000.V79
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Vinyard Family who lived near Vinton, Virginia in Roanoke County. The collection is primarily composed of the business papers (ledgers, bills, receipts, legal papers, accounts and printed material) of N. J. Vinyard, Walter H. Vinyard, and Walter D. Vinyard, Sr. who farmed near Vinton, Virginia. The collection also includes papers of Fannie Persinger, James Thomas Wood and S. H. Wood. The Vinyard family lived near Vinton, Virginia (Roanoke County) and engaged in farming and milk...
Dates:
1781-1999; Majority of material found in 1915-1955
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Wilson Phi Beta Kappa Certificate
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.210
Scope and Contents
Phi Beta Kappa membership certificate of Virginia Wilson, received December 5, 1939.
Dates:
1939 December 5
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Wade E. D. MacDonald Photographs
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.177
Scope and Contents
The collection contains three photographs: the 1902 William & Mary football team (with players identified), Wade MacDonald and W.N. Shackleford in football uniforms (1902), and MacDonald's senior portrait (1905).
Dates:
1902, 1905
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Walter Darnell Vinyard Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.237
Scope and Contents
This collection includes Vinyard's report cards from the Roanoke County, Virginia school system, Big Lick District, a 1929 letter to his parents from Dean of Men, W. T. Hodges stating Vinyard made the Dean's List (1929), William & Mary grade reports, and the 1932 commencement program.
Dates:
1918-1932
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Walter S. Eanes Freshman English Manual
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.284
Scope and Contents
Printed "Freshman English Manual of Instructions and Exercises for 1924-1925," owned by William & Mary student Walter S. Eanes. The manual is an example of what was being used for Freshman English classes and the curriculum at William & Mary and includes notes and exercises written by Eanes.
Dates:
1924-1925
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Warner Throckmorton Jones Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.244
Scope and Contents
This collection contains two items. The first is an invitation to the "Birthnight Ball," which celebrated the birth of George Washington by a ball given the Hall of Apollo by the students of William & Mary. It is dated January 22, 1839 and includes the names of the managers. It is addressed to a Miss McDonnell (or McDornell) of Abingdon, Virginia. The second item is also an invitation to the "Birthnight Ball," for January 22, 1840. It also includes the names of...
Dates:
1839-1840
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas D. Warren Permission Slip
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.180
Scope and Contents
Permission slip written by M. L. Warren, father of William & Mary student Thomas D. Warren, giving his permission for Thomas to board out of the College if he so desires and to make his own selection of classes.
Dates:
1834 November 15
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Wartime Memory Collection
Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 66
Scope and Contents
Wartime stories from alumni gathered by the editorial staff of the William and Mary Magazine for the "War and Remembrance" cover article in the Fall 1995 issue commemorating the fiftieth anniversary of the end of World War II. The collection contains submissions from alumni featuring brief stories or recollections regarding their wartime experiences from 1941-1966. Many contributions were written on a standardized mailer sent out by the editorial staff; others range from press clippings to...
Dates:
1941-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mollie Waters Poem
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.181
Scope and Contents
"Poem Upon the Graduation of the Class of 1938" written by Mollie Waters.
Dates:
1938
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert Edward Lee Watkins Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.054
Scope and Contents
This collection includes items related to the Phoenix and Philomathean Literary Societies, debates Watkins participated in, class notes, artifacts, a certificate, and a letter written to his mother while he was stationed in Cuba during the Spanish American War.
Dates:
1889-1891
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- College of William and Mary--Students 124
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century 70
- Correspondence 63
- College of William and Mary--History--19th century 52
- Photographs 41
- Scrapbooks 22
- College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 18
- Financial records 17
- Legal documents 15
- Manuscripts (document genre) 15
- Academic writing 14
- Certificates 14
- Programs 13
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 13
- Women college students 12
- Notebooks 11
- United States--Politics and Government 11
- Clippings (information artifacts) 10
- Diaries 9
- Publications 9
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 9
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
- Agendas (administrative records) 7
- College of William and Mary--History--18th century 7
- Genealogy 7
- Letters (correspondence) 7
- Negatives 7
- Receipts (financial records) 7
- Reports 7
- Virginia--Governors 7
- Account books 6
- College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 6
- Homecoming 6
- Minutes 6
- Speeches, addresses, etc. 6
- Virginia--Genealogy 6
- Course work 5
- Fliers (printed matter) 5
- Slides (photographs) 5
- Speeches 5
- Virginia--Politics and Government 5
- Women--Education (Higher)--United States 5
- World War, 1939-1945 5
- Artifacts 4
- Pamphlets 4
- Poems 4
- Printed ephemera 4
- Technical reports 4
- United States--Lawyers 4
- Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 4
- Video recordings 4
- Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
- Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
- College of William and Mary--Commencement 3
- College of William and Mary--History--21st century 3
- Curriculum 3
- Diplomas 3
- Education, Higher--Virginia--History 3
- Fundraising campaigns 3
- Newsletters 3
- Newspapers 3
- Plays (document genre) 3
- Rosters 3
- Scripts (documents) 3
- Segregation in education--Virginia 3
- Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
- Sound Recordings 3
- Student housing 3
- Textbooks 3
- Transcripts 3
- Typescripts 3
- United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 3
- Virginia--Politics and government--20th century 3
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
- Women--Education--Virginia 3
- World War, 1914-1918 3
- American poetry--20th century 2
- Appointments (military records) 2
- Athletics 2
- Authors, American--20th century 2
- Booklets 2
- Buildings and Grounds 2
- Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 2
- Coeducation--Virginia 2
- College of William and Mary--History--17th century 2
- Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
- Debates and debating--Virginia--History--19th century 2
- Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
- Education--Virginia--History--20th century 2
- Elections--Virginia 2
- Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered Students and Alumni 2
- Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
- Jamestown (Va.)--History 2
- Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
- Lapel Pins 2
- Lecture notes 2
- Literature--Societies, etc 2
- Maps 2
- Marine biologists 2 + ∧ less
∨ more