College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae
Organization
Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:
Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates:
1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Francis Macauley Diploma
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.202
Scope and Contents
William & Mary diploma presented to Francis Macauley on July 4, 1811. The diploma is written in Latin on vellum, which is adhered to a linen backing. The diploma is signed by William & Mary President Bishop James Madison and faculty members John Bracken, William Nelson, George Blackburn.
The original wax seal is still affixed to the ribbon, though this particular part has separated from the diploma.
Dates:
1811 July 4
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lee Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents
Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children. An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates:
1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Filtered By
- Subject: Diplomas X
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Correspondence 2
- Poems 2
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
- Certificates 1
- Clippings (information artifacts) 1
- College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
- College of William and Mary--Students 1
- Drawings and graphics 1
- Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
- Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
- Financial records 1
- Genealogy 1
- Hampden-Sydney College 1
- History of the College 1
- Mental illness--Treatment--History 1
- Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
- Mental illness--United States 1
- Mentally ill--Care 1
- Newspapers 1
- Notebooks 1
- Pen drawing--19th century. 1
- Photographs 1
- Reports 1
- Scrapbooks 1
- United States Military Academy 1
- Virginia--Genealogy 1
- Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 1
- Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
- Women college students 1
- Women--Education--Virginia 1 + ∧ less
∨ more