Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

College of William and Mary.

 Organization

Found in 122 Collections and/or Records:

Royal Charter Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 77
Scope and Contents This collection includes two contemporary copies of the Royal Charter issued to the College of William and Mary by King William III and Queen Mary II in 1693. One copy was probably made for the personal reference of Sir Edmund Andros. It is uncertain for whom the second copy, known as the Harvard copy, was created. It is referred to as the Harvard copy because it was found in an attic at Harvard and subsequently given to the College of William and Mary in 1937. The Harvard copy...

Samuel Stuart Griffin Letters to James Lewis Corbin Griffin

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.286
Scope and Contents This collection consists of seven letters written by William & Mary alumnus, Samuel Stuart Griffin of Williamsburg, to his son, James Lewis Corbin Griffin. In the first letter, dated May 7, 1834, Griffin acknowledges his son's recent change of plans, wherein his son now has a teaching position and is living in a public house. Griffin expresses concern over the kinds of individuals his son is likely to meet at the public house and how they may be negative influences on him. Griffin...

Miles Selden Certificates

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.136
Scope and Contents The collection consists of two certificates presented to Miles Selden while a student at William & Mary.The first certificate is dated July 4, 1842 and was presented to Selden for his success in the studies of "Belles Lettres, Logic, Ethics, History, National Law & Chemistry." It is signed by faculty members Thomas Dew, Robert Saunders, Beverley Tucker, and John Millington.The second certificate is dated July 4, 1843 and was presented to Selden for his success in...

Seminar Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 284
Scope and Contents This collection contains memos regarding the start up of Seminar, a literary journal published by the College of William and Mary.  The Seminar was first published in 1956 and ran until 1962, when it was merged with another literary journal, the Royalist. The Royalist in time merged into the present-day William and Mary...

Caroline Baytop Sinclair Papers, 1938-1993

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.73 and 1995.05
Scope and Contents Correspondence of Dr. Caroline Baytop Sinclair and notes concerning his research of John Sinclair, Revolutionary and War of 1812 privateer. Collection also includes articles and clippings about John Sinclair, a Baytop genealogy, as well as correspondence about a piece of furniture given to the College of William and Mary.

The book, "The Kidnapped Child" a novel about Henry Sinclair, written by Caroline B. Sinclair, 1983.

Addition 1995.05 added as Folder 10.

Stephen Hawtrey Letter to Edward Hawtrey

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01461
Scope and Contents Letter, dated March 26, 1765, written by Stephen Hawtrey of London to his brother Edward. At the time the letter was written, Edward was still in Exeter, England, though recently named Master of the Grammar School at William & Mary. Stephen tells Edward about his conversation with William Small, then in London, about the conditions at William & Mary and in Virginia. The letter details what Edward needs to take with him on his voyage, what clothes are appropriate for the Virginia...

Office of the Dean of Student Affairs Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 23
Scope and Contents The collection includes subject files retained by the Dean of Student Affairs at the College of William and Mary related to a variety of topics including the university's alcohol policy, Washington Program, etc.

Summer Session Records, 1912-2000

 Collection
Identifier: UA 295
Scope and Contents This collection contains announcements, newsletters, and reports describing various Summer Sessions of William & Mary, including the summer sessions held at the Dublin Institute in Dublin, Virginia from 1912-1918. Included in the collection is The Mountain Echo for 1912, a "year book" for the summer sessions held in Dublin. Also available in the collection is a copy of the Mini Hat, an information sheet of facts and various notices which are pertinent to the entire summer session.

Margaret Thatcher Letters

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.006
Scope and Contents This collection consists of letters written by Margaret Thatcher, Chancellor of the College of William and Mary, to President Timothy J. Sullivan. Included in the letters are thank you letters to Sullivan for various Charter Day activities, Thatcher being installed as Chancellor, and saying farewell to her seven years as Chancellor.

Thomas Bernard Latane Grade Report

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.121
Scope and Contents The Report of Scholarship and Attendance of Thomas Bernard Latane, a student in the State Male Normal College of Virginia and William & Mary, dated December 14, 1893. It is signed by John Lesslie Hall.