This collection consists of one form, completed by Edward Francis Birckhead, reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College and William & Mary to teach. He served as principal of Ivy High School in Albemarle County, Virginia after leaving William & Mary.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

The Bishop James Madison Society records contains correspondence, printed materials, photographs, scrapbooks and audiovisual materials documenting the activities of the Bishop James Madison Society, a secret society on the campus of William & Mary founded in 1812. Materials include posters, fliers and ephemeral material related to the daily activites and members of the Bishop James Madison Society.

This collection contains information about the College of William and Mary from the Eighteenth Century to the present. Included in the collection are faculty lecture notes from a variety of classes, scrapbooks, research notes, correspondence, textbooks used at the College of William and Mary, minute and account books, poetry books, student notebooks, a literary manual, and various other miscellaneous bound volumes.

The scrapbook of Emily Calkins includes news clippings related to the College of William and Mary as well as events from throughout Virginia for the time period 1936-1942.

This collection consists of one form, completed by Charles Samuel Smith, Jr., reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College and William & Mary to teach.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

The collection contains the scholarship and attendance report for E. M. Terry. It provides his class grade (ex. fair, good) for different classes as well as a remark by and signature of faculty member Charles Edward Bishop.

This collection consists of one form, completed by Edgar M. Terrell, reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College and William & Mary to teach.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

This collection includes two items. One is Hall's degree essay about John Marshall (1903). The other is his pledge to teach fulfillment form, dated April 24, 1905, reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College of Virginia and William & Mary to teach. Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

A pen and ink cartoon drawing (9 1/2" x 14") depicting G. Gregg's impressions of a visit to the College in 1941. Also includes two black and white glossy reproductions of the cartoon ( 4 1/2" x 7" and 2 3/4" x 3 3/4").

This collection consists of one form, completed by John B. Weston, reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College and William & Mary to teach.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

This collection contains materials relating to Robert Hunt Land's work on the history of the College of William and Mary. It includes a published description of Land's proposed history of the college, notes and correspondence about the proposed history, and biographical information about alumni (1814-1881). It also contains correspondence between Herbert Ganter, Earl Gregg Swem, and Robert Hunt Land about Ganter's research on William and Mary at the Library of Congress.

Scholarship and attendance report for Mason E. Lee. It provides his class grade (ex. fair, good) for different classes as well as a remark by and signature of H. L. Bridges.

Pledge Fulfilment Form, completed by Richard Posey McGehee, reporting how he made good on his pledge to the State Male Normal College of Virginia and to William & Mary to teach after graduation.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William & Mary and received financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

This collection consists of one form, completed by Milton Richard Morgan, reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College and William & Mary to teach.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

This collection contains correspondence and recital schedules from the Naval Chaplain's School at the College of William and Mary from 1944-1945.

Papers of Elizabeth Nunn, an elementary school teacher in Williamsburg, Virginia.

This collection includes printed materials including course selction guidebooks at William & Mary.

Certificate of Distinction presented to Robert Gilchrist Robb on July 4, 1892, stating he passed his required exams in the "Junior class of English." It is signed by John Lesslie Hall and Hugh S. Bird. Robb attended William & Mary from 1891-1893.