Gladys Monroe Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and programs from Gladys Monroe's years as a student at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection is a speech given by Monroe about Grace Warren Landrum, former Dean of Women, at the dedication of Landrum Hall in 1959; programs from the William and Mary Dramatic Club from 1931 to 1933; photographs of Monroe, including a few with fellow theatre student Howard Scammon; news clippings about Ms. Monroe; and a Pi Beta Phi sorority bulletin from 1929.
Dates
- Creation: 1929-1959
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1930-1933
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
This collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Extent
0.20 Linear Feet
Acquisition Information:
Acc. 2008.121 was received in December 1999.
Processing Information:
Processed by Steven Bookman in October 2008.
Subject
- College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance (Organization)
- Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 (Person)
- Title
- Guide to the Gladys Monroe Papers
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman.
- Date
- 2008-10-31
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository